Click to Home

Go To Search
Woodland Enhanced Health Services Commission
Background Information:
Clark County Rehabilitation & Living Center (CCRLC) has historically provided services for behaviorally challenged individuals to counties throughout the state since 1922.  Our services have allowed other counties to offer greater options along with the continuum of care for their residents.  CCRLC is heavily dependent (over 90%) on Medicaid to pay for their care.  The actual cost of care continues to exceed the amount Medicaid pays per patient day.

Services that CCRLC currently provide include:
  • Both Secure Male and Female Dementia Units
  • Behavorial Admissions Unit
  • Gero Psychiatric Unit
  • Facility for the Developmentally Disabled
  • Skilled Nursing Home care
  • Community-Based Residential Facility (CBRF) - open June 18, 2012
    • Client Groups - Mentally Ill and Developmentally Disabled Populations

About the Commission:
The Woodland Enhanced Health Services Commission (WEHSC) is a collaboration of various counties throughout the state of Wisconsin to maintain and expand on the special services of Clark County Rehabilitation & Living Center.  It is a Commission created by an intergovernmental agreement under Wis. Stats 66.0301 consisting of member counites that hold the license for operating the Nursing Home and Facility for the Developmentally Disabled (FDD) portion of the Clark County Rehab. & Living Center.  The Commission is contracted with Clark County to provide the infrastructure and staffing for Commission activities related to the Nursing Home and FDD.  The State has recognized and accepted this type of "commission ownership" model as set forth in Wis. Stat. 49.49(7).  WEHSC was formed in January 2012 and is currently made up of sixteen counties. 

Members counties include:
  • Barron   
  • Bayfield   
  • Buffalo
  • Chippewa   
  • Clark   
  • Douglas
  • Eau Claire   
  • Florence   
  • Jackson   
  • Oneida 
  • Pepin  
  • Polk   
  • Portage   
  • Price
  • Rock
  • Rusk
  • Taylor
  • Walworth
  • Waushara
  • Wood
  • Trempealeau

Commission members have priority access to services at Clark County Rehabilitation & Living Center.  WEHSC is governed by representatives from member counties with each member county having a representative on the Board. 

New member counties are welcome to join the Commission at any time.  Inquiries for information on WEHSC can be made to Jane Schmitz or Angela Greschner at (715) 229-2172.

Clark County Courthouse
Hours:  8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
517 Court St., Room 301
Neillsville, WI 54456
Phone: (715) 743-5148
Fax: (715) 743-5154